Skip To Main Content

Meet the Governors

The Board of Governors is responsible for upholding the aims and objectives of the school, setting the strategic direction and ensuring the school has the required resources and financing to operate effectively. It is a member of The Association of Governing Bodies of Independent Schools (AGBIS).

The Governors come from a wide range of backgrounds and its members possess a comprehensive range of skills and experience that help the Board to achieve its aims. The Board is led by a Chair and two Vice-Chairs. The Board delegates responsibility for the day-to-day management of the school to the Principal and the Head Teachers.
The full Board of Governors meets at least six times a year. In addition, the Board also has various sub committees including: Finance & Resources, Learning & Standards, HR, and Projects. Feedback on matters discussed in the meetings is given in the newsletter.
St George’s is honoured to have the patronage of the British Ambassador to Luxembourg, Robert John Marshall.

Mr Phillip Charlton, Chair

Mr Charlton is a Mechanical Engineer and is the Global Business Development Manager for Morgan Advanced Materials. He has lived in Luxembourg since 2000 and is married with 2 children. Their son graduated from the ISL and their daughter from St George's.

Mrs Serene Delano, Vice-Chair

Mrs Delano moved to Luxembourg in July 2007 with the intention of returning to the US after two years. 10 years later - Serene works at Pricewaterhouse Coopers as an assurance partner within the asset management industry. Serene is married and has 3 small boys, all attending St George’s.

Mr Stefan Ziegenhagen, Vice-Chair

Mr Ziegenhagen arrived in Luxembourg with his family from Dublin in 2007; he works as in-house legal counsel in the insurance sector for a Luxembourg subsidiary of a large US insurance group and is a qualified solicitor in England and Wales and the Republic of Ireland. The family consists of his wife Caroline, four lively dogs, adult daughter Laura and her brother Sean who has been attending St George’s from the start, currently experiencing school life in Secondary.

Mr Fabio Morvilli

Mr Morvilli has lived in Luxembourg since 1982, for 20 years as Managing Director of Telecom Italia Finance. He is married with 3 children who attend St George’s. He is involved with the Italian Community, Chairman of the Italian Chamber of Commerce in Luxembourg, Chairman of the Belgian-Italian Chamber of Commerce, Honorary Consul of the Republic of San Marino in Luxembourg. He is director for a variety of companies, some of them under the supervision of CSSF.

Mrs Liina Munari

Mrs Munari has been working for the European institutions since 1996 in different services both in Luxembourg and Brussels. She joined the European Commission in 2006 and is currently working on European research, innovation and policy-making in the field of digital technologies for learning. She is married and has two daughters, the best achievement of her life, who attend St George’s.

Mrs Diane Ries

Ms Ries is a Luxembourg national and returned to Luxembourg after her studies in Paris. She has an extensive career in HR both as a Manager and a Consultant and has set up her own company HR Services SA in 2000. She has been a Teacher both in Secondary school and at University and works as a professional trainer. She is currently the President of Competence ASBL.

Mrs Susan Eriksson

Mrs Eriksson has worked as a teacher in a variety of senior and head teacher roles in international schools worldwide and is currently consulting as an international schools inspector. She is a trained facilitator and specializes in guidance and strategic planning as well as a trainer of all levels of student safeguarding. Mrs Eriksson is from Wales and pursues an active life with her husband caring for grandchildren, and dog breeding.

Mr Giancarlo Sardelli

Mr Sardelli is Italian. He works at the EIB, where he is Acting Director of Regulation and Group Risk. He has lived in Luxembourg since 1996. He has been a member of a scout association for many years, developing an interest for educational and leadership matters. Mr Sardelli is married and has three daughters; his family life is enriched by five big dogs.

Mrs Hayley Montague

Ms Montague is Australian / British. After completing her studies at the University of Sydney, she moved to Luxembourg in 2007 and works at Northern Trust Global Services. She became involved with St George’s through her role as an Assessor for the Mérite Jeunesse (Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award) and broadened her experience with students by acting as an Explorer Leader with Telstar Scouts. She is a keen outdoor enthusiast and has a passion for running.


Mr Patrick Schon

A Luxembourg national, Mr Schon completed his A levels at the European School in Luxembourg, going on to study Business Economics in Germany and in France. After his studies abroad, he returned to Luxembourg and has now been working for PricewaterhouseCoopers, where he is an assurance partner for operational companies, for over 15 years. He is married and has 2 children who attend the local Luxembourgish primary school. He was an active ice hockey player and has competed in over ten World Championships for the Luxembourgish national team – he remains very connected to ice hockey and is active as a volunteer coach for youth teams.

Mr Paul Michael Schonenberg

Originally from the United States, Mr Schonenberg has been living and working in Luxembourg for over 20 years. A Senior Executive with over 40 years of outstanding accomplishments in both the public and private sectors, he is currently Chairman and CEO of the American Chamber of Commerce in Luxembourg, founding Vice President of the Luxembourg Chapter of the European Coaching and Mentoring Association as well as partner and co-owner of Leadership Solutions, Europe.
Kevin Wilson

Mr Kevin Wilson

Mr Wilson moved to Luxembourg from London in 2015 with his wife and two children. His son and daughter have thrived as students at St George’s since then and are now in the Secondary and Primary schools respectively. Mr Wilson is an English qualified solicitor and has practised as a lawyer for over 20 years. He initially worked as a corporate lawyer in a global law firm before moving in-house to a number of private and public companies as the General Counsel. He has worked as a lawyer in Australia, Dubai and Brussels, as well as London and Luxembourg


Ms Aatika Hayat

Ms Hayat is a New Zealand qualified Barrister and Solicitor specializing in International Taxation. She moved to Luxembourg in 2016 with her husband and two young sons. Prior to that, Ms Hayat was based in Shanghai, Hong Kong and Geneva as well as her native Auckland in global roles for various multinationals including TetraPak and ArcelorMittal. Ms Hayat is the co-Founder of Ryse asbl which mentors youth refugees and assists them with integrating and finding jobs in Luxembourg. 


Ms Natalie Barrett

Ms Barret is a London based educationalist and has been involved in Primary education since the early 90s. Over the years, she has had many responsibilities, all requiring a wholeschool outlook and the skills to manage change. Ms Barret's leadership experience includes being Chair of governors and culminates in being a key member of the leadership team taking a school to an outstanding Ofsted grade. During her career break to care for her mother, Ms Barrett both worked as a freelance educational consultant and as a director within a social enterprise looking to bring moments of happiness to those living with mid-to-late dementia. 

Additionally, the following individuals are committee members of the Finance & Resources, Learning, Standards & Achievement, Buildings & Projects and IT sub-committees:

Ms Nicola Jancso-Sanderson
Mrs Marie-Laure Saura-Carat
Mr Christophe Jacamon
Mr Yuval Somekh 
Mr Stephen Nye
Mrs Laura Torres